Farewell Chromebook

This HP 14 Chromebook got me through the last two years of college. I haven’t been using it as much anymore, but it has always been handy to have on hand because of how quickly it starts and connects to the web.  Unfortunately this is what the screen now looks like. At some point I dropped it on concrete. It isn’t made of the sturdiest material and part of the case cracked but the only other casualty at the time was that it wouldn’t hold a charge anymore. It has been a minor inconvenience to keep it plugged in, but coupled with the screen crapping out, I think it’s time to say good bye.  

I paid a little more than the standard HP 14 model at the time at $350 for 4 GB RAM and 32 GB SSD. I probably could have gone without the larger hard drive, but still a decent deal for having survived a little over 3 years. I haven’t been paying much attention to the newer Chromebook models but I would definitely buy another one, especially since they are shipping with Android app support. Because of that it makes sense to get a touchscreen and possibly a 2-in-1, but I’m in no hurry to find a replacement. Thanks for the memories HP 14!

If you’re curious about Chromebooks, here are the 7 best so far of 2017

Leave a Reply

