serial reading

I don’t read as much as I should.  I want to, but I make excuses like I don’t have time or can’t find a good book or I’m waiting for a certain book to become available at the library.  If I really wanted to, I could make the time.  The band Garbage recently announced an autobiographyThis is the Noise That Keeps Me Awake, due next summer.  I’ll add that to the reading list, but will likely forget about it before it even comes out.

I stumbled upon an app, Serial Box Publishing, that looked intriguing.  Stories are published as weekly episodes and users can toggle between reading or listening to each episode.  I enjoy listening to podcasts.  Maybe I’d like reading/listening to these stories.  I downloaded the app and quickly realized the catch.  There are 5 stories/serials on the app.  The first episode of each one is free.  Each episode after that is $1.99 or $19.99 for the entire season.

Why make reading like watching TV, when the trend is to binge watch TV shows?  For $20 I can buy a book and “binge-read” it rather than wait a week to read the next chapter or section.  Interesting idea, but I’m not going to buy a story one episode at at time.

Leave a Reply

