More Kaepernick

I feel good about how my post came out yesterday.  Whether anyone actually reads this or not, sometimes it just feels good to say what you need to say.  As a follow up to my Kaepernick post though, I noticed today that the St. Louis Post Dispatch published reader comments to the Oritz article I referenced. There is a comment that pointed out Kaepernick certainly has the right to do what he did, but that doesn’t mean he can’t or shouldn’t be criticized for it.  We absolutely have the same freedom to say that we disagree with what he did, how we went about it, and even his comments following the incident if that’s how you may feel.  Criticized? Yes, but I think many of the personal attacks have gone too far.  Then again, those people have freedom of speech as well.  It just isn’t very productive.

There was also the comment that because he was wearing the San Francisco 49ers uniform, he was representing the organization.  Missourinet Sports Director, Bill Pollock, also addressed the idea in his daily podcast recently that Kaepernick was on company time when he decided to remain seated.  If I were to pull a similar stunt while wearing a company branded shirt, I’m sure there would be consequences when I showed up for work the next day.  I imagine this could fall under some morality clause in his contract, assuming the 49ers decide to take action against him.

I know a lot has been written and said already.  I’m certainly not saying anything new.  Kareem Abdul-Jammar chimed in with a thoughtful piece for the Washington Post and addresses the idea that Kaepernick should leave the country if he is unhappy.  If you read anything else on the subject, though, read this incredible open letter from former Green Beret and Seattle Seahawks long snapper, Nate Boyer.  It really is a must read.

I’m finished…for now…I think.

Leave a Reply

