Commencement

A little more than eight weeks ago I started this blog as part of a Social Media class I was taking at Columbia College.   Class ended last week, but my grades have just been finalized and I have completed wok on my BS.BA. with a double major in Marketing and Sports Management.  
My college journey started in October 2010.  I’ve been in school longer than my youngest has been alive and for half of my daughter’s life.  My wife had been taking classes online and it seemed like something I could do, too.  I spent the first two years taking one class at a time while learning how to juggle school with family life and a full time job that included working nights and weekends.  There were plenty of times it felt like I would never finish.  I kicked it up a notch and spent the next two years taking classes full time, mostly online, but a few in-seat.  It wasn’t always easy and there were lots of times I wanted to give up.  My wife didn’t continue taking classes, but still encouraged and supported me.  I couldn’t have done it without her understanding and encouragement.  
I don’t know what comes next.  I used my degree audit for the last five plus years as a road map of what I needed to get done, and now I’ve reached the end of the road.  Hopefully my degree will open some doors professionally.  But I also enjoy learning and may eventually go back for my master’s degree.  In the meantime I’m going to enjoy the accomplishment and free time.  I joke I need to find a hobby to fill all the extra time.  I’ve enjoyed this blog so maybe this will become my new hobby.  

Leave a Reply

