Clothes from plastic

There’s a company in North Carolina, Unifi, turning recycled plastic bottles into clothing.  The company creates a fiber from the recycled material known as Repreve.  

Repreve yarn is used to make everything from jackets and T-shirts to dress pants and even car upholstery. It’s used in brands like Patagonia, The North Face, Levi’s, Adidas, Nike (NKE) andFord (F).

It is also estimated that some 400,000 college students will wear caps and gowns at graduation this year made from Repreve yarn.  It takes 27 used bottles to make one gown.

I enjoy stories like this and am fascinated by the innovation.  I don’t think too much about what happens to the materials after I drop them off. The local trash service offers single-stream recycling with residential trash pick-up every week.  Unfortunately I live outside of city limits, which means recycling pick-up is not available to me.  I don’t have a problem dropping off my own recyclables, but I tend to drive the family crazy making sure plastics don’t go in the trash and then having it pile up in the garage.   I know my recycling alone isn’t going to save the world, but I feel better about leaving less of a footprint.

Leave a Reply

