Amazon frustration

Remember when the Rock Band video game was huge?  I know it’s still around, but the craze has certainly faded.  We have a Rock Band 3 drum set and a Beatles Rickenbacker guitar that we used with the Wii version of the game.  We no longer have a Wii and these items are taking up space.  In trying to figure out what to do with these things, other than the trash, I found that I could trade them in to Amazon for credit.  That seemed like a great idea!  I’ve used the trade-in feature plenty of times with textbooks.

In my excitement, I submitted the trade-in order before verifying what I had matched what I was sending to Amazon.  As it turns out, I was wrong.  Amazon was accepting trade-in offers for the PlayStation 3 version of the instrument controllers, but not for Wii.  I cancelled the order, within an hour, without sending anything and thought that was the end of it.  But no.  Amazon already credited my account with a gift card balance in the amount that matched the quote of the trade-in offer.  Because I cancelled the order, they then charged my bank account for the gift card balance.  That didn’t seem right to me.  It would make more sense to remove the gift card balance from my Amazon account.

I used the chat feature on the Amazon website to see if they could right this wrong.  I was told that when I mail in the products, they will credit my bank account.  Except I’m not sending Amazon anything which is why I cancelled the order.  So I called the customer service number and  again explained the situation.  This time I was told the department that handles these requests will get back to me in 2-3 business days.  An email was sent following the conversation confirming the same thing.  One month later still no response.  I responded to the email I received about the 2-3 business days and received a response within 7 hours.

Unfortunately, according to Amazon.com policy we are not able to transfer the gift card to your payment card. I hope you understand our policy and limitation.

That isn’t quite what I’m asking for.  Instead of removing the credit they gave me, they took my money and are holding it hostage. Will I eventually use the credit?  Eventually, sure.  But it should be up to me when and how I spend my money, not Amazon.  Needless to say I’ve removed all of my saved payment methods from my Amazon to avoid a similar situation.  Being a long-time Amazon customer, I’m pretty disappointed in their policy.

So…anyone want to buy a used Rock Band 3 drum set and Beatles Rickenbacker guitar compatible with the Wii?

Leave a Reply

