GN’R snubs STL

I was 12 years old when Guns N’ Roses played in St. Louis in what has become known as the Riverport Riot.  I badly wanted to go to the concert, but also recall watching the news that evening and my parents giving me that “I told you so” look.  I don’t think I even realized the scope of the incident or how much Axl Rose hated St. Louis following the incident.  I had a job at Dairy Queen while in high school.  Every night at closing time I tortured my coworkers by playing “Appetite for Destruction” on the boom box in the back. Every. Night.  I mean, it’s one of the best rock albums of all time after all.  It was glorious!

By that time “The Spaghetti Incident” had been released, but I had moved on.  As I got older I cared less and less about Axl’s antics and got more into the alternative and grunge scene.  Even today I couldn’t tell you a single song from the “The Spaghetti Incident” or the “Chinese Democracy” albums (I had to look up both of those titles).  Here we are nearly 25 years later and Guns N’ Roses announced St. Louis was on the list of cities for their upcoming reunion tour.  Twenty one cities were originally announced, but today’s release of dates and venues only lists twenty tour stops with St. Louis mysteriously missing.  April Fool’s on St. Louis or this Axl being the prima donna that he is and sticking it to the city one more time?

It’s fun to reminisce and “Appetite” still holds up today.  However no one should be offended by this apparent snub.  Axl is putting his ego on hold long enough to get paid and then he will hopefully fade away for good.  If you’re that big of a fan in the St. Louis area, you can see them in KC or Chicago.

Leave a Reply

